Strawberry Pie Smoothie (Or Perhaps, Strawberry ‘Nog?)

I love happy accidents, especially when it comes to recipes. Your mistake is somehow transformed into creativity (or at least that’s how I chose to see it).
I had planned on having a cashew banana smoothie this morning with cinnamon and nutmeg (sort of like a frosty egg nog), so last night I went ahead and put my dry ingredients into the Vitamix. When I got up this morning, I realized the bananas sitting on my counter were still too green to use and I didn’t have any frozen.

I did find a bag of organic strawberries hiding in my freezer (under bags of frozen beans and veggies… I really need to organize my freezer, but it is a little like a treasure hunt in there!). I decided to just make a strawberry smoothie. I didn’t think about the fact that I had already put cinnamon and nutmeg into the blender. I poured the strawberries in and then thought, “Oh… this is going to taste weird.” Not wanting to waste anything, I just went ahead with it, and it turned out really yummy! It sort of reminds me of strawberry pie.

I threw in a little green (as I always do), but that’s completely optional. You should try it though; you don’t taste the spinach at all!

1 1/2 cups almond milk
3 deglet noor dates, pitted
10-12 whole frozen strawberries (if you use fresh berries, toss in a cup of ice cubes)
1/4 cup cashews
1 tablespoon chia seeds (optional)
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
1 big handful of spinach

Blend everything on high until creamy and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

