Rise and Shine Green Lemonade

When my dad used to wake me up when I was little, he’d throw open the bedroom door, open the blinds, and sing “RISE AND SHINE!” Irritating, no? Well now I really do want to rise and shine. I want to wake up feeling refreshed and ready to take on the day, and drinking my greens helps me feel that way. Drinking your greens cleanses your body from the inside out and makes you feel amazing!

green lemonade

I’ve seen a lot of recipes for green lemonade out there, all of them slightly different. Most of them require juicing or straining, and in the morning, I like to keep it simple. I want something quick and easy. Some recipes consist of only green vegetables and lemon. I like a little sweetness. Some have celery (ick). Some have very little lemon, as in only 1 slice, which is a shame. When I want lemonade, I want to taste bright, cheery, zippy LEMON!

I came up with this recipe on my own a couple of mornings ago, not having found recipe online that satisfied me. I just used what I had, so you can do the same. If you don’t have kale or don’t like collards, use spinach or whatever you like. Cucumber would be a nice addition too. I just kept it basic.

I wanted this to be more like a juice than a smoothie, so I used more water than usual. It turned out perfect!

Ingredients:
2 cups water
1/2 apple (granny smith would be good, but I had gala)
1 large collard leaf, stem removed
1 large kale leaf, stem removed
1 lemon, peeled but with the white pith on (get those seeds out too!)
7-8 deglet noor dates OR 3-4 medjools, depending on how sweet you want it (I soaked the dates overnight in coconut water and used a bit of the resulting “syrup” that formed as well, but that’s optional if you have a high-speed blender)

Blend everything on high and chill. If you want to drink it immediatley and want it cold, just add some ice in when you blend or pour it over ice. If you don’t have a high-speed blender like a Vitamix, you might want to pour this into your glass through a mesh strainer.

Rise and shine! 🙂

A note on de-stemming your greens. With a high-powered blender you can totally leave the stems on. My Vitamix will liquefy stems, no problem. However, removing the stems cuts down on the “green”taste a little, so that’s why I do it.

Leave a Reply

