Fresh Mango Salsa

We recently took a trip to Maui, Hawaii (which I will be posting more about soon), where fresh mango, papaya, pineapple, and coconut are so available that most people grow them in their yards. All along the coastline, we saw stands with fresh, colorful produce. Now that I’m back on the mainland, I’m still craving those delicious, sunny fruits.

Luckily, mangoes were on sale for $1 each this week and limes were 3 for $1. I made this mango salsa in my Vitamix last night and it was so quick and easy. It’s full of flavor, has just a bit of heat, and if I close my eyes and try really hard, I can picture myself back in Hawaii.

mango salsa

If you don’t have a Vitamix, I imagine that a food processor would work too. Or, you could just chop everything by hand and have a chunkier salsa.

The mangoes for this need to be semi-ripe, meaning partially green, partially red. You don’t want them to be hard, but not soft either. They should give very slightly to the touch. If they’re too ripe, you’ll end up with mush.

Ingredients:
2 mangoes, semi-ripe, washed, unpeeled, and chopped into cubes
1 cup fresh cilantro
¾ cup chopped red onion
½ jalapeno, with ½ of the seeds removed
juice of 1 lime

Put everything in the Vitamix, in the order listed. Start on variable 1 and increase to 4. Blend for 15-20 seconds, using the tamper to push the ingredients into the blades.

I bet this would be really good on top of blackened tofu or grilled veggies!

Leave a Reply

