Cashew Sour Cream (raw, vegan, gluten free)

Last night was taco night (LOVE taco night!) and my partner literally told me that if I never made this sour cream again, she would “die a little inside”!! This stuff is SO good! Use it on tacos, burritos, chili, baked potatoes, in stroganoff, as a base for veggie dips… you get the idea.

Feel free to use your food processor for this. That’s what I’ve used for the past year and it works just fine, but it won’t be completely creamy. You’ll have minuscule bits of cashews (no biggie, trust me), but they’ll be soft from the soaking, so you won’t notice them when you eat it with a meal.

However… I must say that I noticed a big difference this time when I used my Vitamix! It was ultra smooth and creamy, just like when you buy it in the store. I was going to take a picture, it was so pretty and white, but we inhaled the whole batch and didn’t even miss the guacamole I didn’t make!

Ingredients:
1 cup raw, unsalted cashews, soaked overnight or during the day while you’re at work
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar (use raw unless you’re not concerned with that)
1/4 cup fresh water

Drain the soaking water off the cashews and add them, along with the fresh water and the rest of the ingredients to your food processor or high-powered blender. Blend until creamy and store any leftovers in the fridge.

A note for Vitamix users: You will have somewhat luke-warm sour cream when you’re done blending, so plan to make a day ahead and store it in the fridge if you want it to be cold. If you didn’t plan for that and you need sour cream for immediate consumption (like I did!), place in the freezer for 4-5 minutes and then serve. It’ll do.

Leave a Reply

