Earth Balance Vegan White Cheddar Popcorn (Product Review)

Maybe my taste buds are just too needy, or maybe they’ve been over-stimulated by cheap, horrible, artificial ingredients for way too long, but most vegan pre-packaged snacks just have no flavor to me.  I guess I expect too much when I tear open a package of something that isn’t laden with crap ingredients and expect it to wow me, but I am well aware that vegan food can be so good it’s like a flavor punch to the face, so why, oh why, can’t I get that from most vegan convenience foods?

I don’t rely on these “easy” foods very often.  I cook every night of the week and everything I make is from scratch, so perhaps I’ve just spoiled myself that way.  But it seems like if I can make flavorful snacks like buttery cheesy vegan popcorn at home, why can’t awesome brands like Earth Balance?

Don’t get me wrong.  I LOVE Earth Balance products.  I use their mayo, butter, and shortening on a regular basis and have not found any other vegan products that compare. But they sort of let me down on this one…

popcorn

 

The white cheddar flavor is very light.  My taste buds barely detected it.  And as far as the claim that they used their Buttery Spread, I couldn’t taste any trace of that at all.  The teensy bit of saltyness was the only (somewhat) redeeming quality about this snack, but they could have doubled the salt, in my opinion.  So overall, not something I would buy again.

If you’re looking for buttery cheesy goodness on your popcorn, pour 1/4 cup corn kernels into a brown paper lunch sack and fold the top over twice (small folds). You don’t need oil or anything else in the bag! Lay the bag down in the microwave and set it for about 2 minutes.  As with all popcorn, when the popping slows down to 2-3 seconds between pop, take it out.  Pour the popped corn in to a bowl and drizzle melted Earth Balance Buttery Spread over the top (about a Tablespoon) and sprinkle with salt and nutritional yeast.  Flavor city!

Leave a Reply

