Mongolian Seitan Recipe

A recent issue of Vegetarian Times contained a recipe from Chloe Coscarelli’s new cookbook Chloe’s Kitchen called L.A. Style Chimichurri Tacos.  They were so good and full of flavor that when I saw the cookbook on the shelf at Barns and Noble’s last weekend, I had to flip through it.  I came across a recipe for Mongolian Seitan and considering I just made a huge batch last week, decided to scribble it down on the back of a receipt I found in my purse.  (I know, I should support the author and buy the book, but I’ll buy from Amazon.)

It turned out really well, so I wanted to share the recipe with you.  To me, the sauce need a little something, but I’m not sure what.  It was tasty enough that I didn’t bother trying to improve it on my own.  Not yet anyway.  I made some slight modifications, which are listed below.  If you want to just buy prepared seitan at the store, that’s perfectly fine, (it will probably brown quicker than mine did as it’s packaged in less broth) but it’s so much more economical to make your own!  This serves 2 people.

Ingredients:
¼ cup hoisin sauce
¼ cup water
2 teaspoons chili garlic sauce (I used 4 teaspoons)
1 teaspoon lemon juice (I used lime)
1 Tablespoon agave
1 Tablespoon soy sauce

8 oz seiten, cut into strips
8 oz shiitake mushrooms, sliced
2 Tablespoons canola oil
1/8 teaspoon cloves
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
2 teaspoons fresh ginger, grated
4 oz snow peas, strings removed
2 green onions, thinly sliced (I used a lot more, just add however much you like)

Directions:
Whisk the first 6 ingredients together for the sauce and set aside.

Heat oil over medium heat in a large skillet and cook the seitan and mushrooms until the seitan is browned and the mushrooms have given up their juices (that sounds so brutal).  This took me about 8-10 minutes, but my seitan was homemade, so it had a lot of liquid in it from sitting in the broth.  If you’re using homemade seitain, it helps to squeeze it out before cooking it.

Add the ginger, cinnamon, and cloves and cook 2 more minutes. 

Add the sauce mixture, snow peas, and green onions and cook until the sauce has thickened, about 3 minutes.  Serve over brown rice, rice noodles, or whatever you like!

Notes:  Chloe’s original recipe also says to sprinkle fresh cilantro over the entrée before serving.  I thought this sounded weird, so I omitted it. Also, I added a pinch of salt to the sauce, but that’s because I was low on soy sauce.  I bet this would be equally as tasty with general TSO’s sauce or an orange glaze.

Leave a Reply

