Weekend Munchies (Organic Harvest, Hoover, AL)

My regular readers will know that I’ve written several times about a local restaurant called Organic Harvest, which is located on Montgomery Highway 31 in Hoover, Alabama.  They have the only juice bar in Alabama (that I am aware of) and a cafe where they serve soup, salad, sandwiches, and smoothies, all made from fresh, organic produce.  They also have a great grocery section, which takes up the majority of the store.

I love to eat lunch at Organic Harvest on the weekends and if you live in or near Birmingham or are visiting, you should definitely check them out.  Their Arnold Smoothie is my favorite (pictured below).  It contains your choice of almond butter or peanut butter, rice milk or organic dairy milk, honey or agave nectar, a banana, and cinnamon.  I get mine made with almond butter, rice milk, and agave.  They also add in a scoop of rice protein powder as well.

The sandwich below is called Veggie Salvation and this weekend was my frist time trying it.  I usually go for their ALT (avocado, lettuce, tomato) panini.  The Veggie Salvation has halved cherry tomatoes, cucumbers, kalamata olives, feta cheese (86 this to make it vegan), sprouts, hummus, and their goddess dressing (which has a creamy, tangy flavor – definitely lemon juice and garlic in there).  I got it on a whole wheat wrap, but they also have gluten free and spinach wraps. Your choice of apple slices or potato chips are served on the side. Yummy!

2 thoughts on “Weekend Munchies (Organic Harvest, Hoover, AL)

  1. I have also frequented the Organic Harvest grocery, etc. and am excited the direction a family business is taking with regard to healthy eating. One person at a time. When you have a few minutes, take a look at my Tower Garden grown on my back deck. Concept not new. The Tower Garden can be seen at Epcot at Disneyworld in Orlando, FL and the Chicago O’Hare airport. The design of future farming to avoid nutritional starvation in this country.

    • I too am excited about the small family businesses that are popping up all over. You should try The Pantry in Cahaba Heights, which I will post about soon. Tower gardens are amazing too, by the way. I had never seen one before!

Leave a Reply

