Hunger Games Dinner Party (vegan style)

Ok don’t laugh at me.  I had a Hunger Games dinner party this past weekend!   Yes, me and my friends who are all quickly approaching 30 gathered to eat Hunger Games inspired food and then went to see the movie.  I have to say that I really enjoyed the books, at least the first two, but I won’t go into all of that because this is not a book review.  I wanted to share my version of a recipe for Katniss’ favorite lamb and dried plum stew (of course there are no dead lambs in mine) and my Mockingjay brownies (no mockingjays were harmed in the making of these brownies).

My version of the stew calls for portobello mushrooms and braised seitan in a “beef” and red wine broth with loads of veggies.  You can serve this over brown rice, spiral pasta, quinoa, or anything you like!  We just ate it like soup because we that’s how we roll.

The Hunger Games Inspired Seitan Stew with Dried Plums!

3  cloves garlic
2-3 shallots, diced
1 8oz package cubed seitan
1 8oz package baby portobello mushrooms, diced
2 large Yukon gold potatoes
2 carrots, diced
1/2 cup chopped dried plums (prunes)
4 cups no-beef broth (4 cups hot water + 2 no-beef bouillon cubes)
½ cup red wine
½ teaspoon thyme
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon pepper

Make the broth and set aside.  Heat a large skillet or soup pot over medium heat and sauté the shallots in a little olive oil while you mince the garlic and chop the seitan into bite-sized pieces (if the cubes aren’t already the size you want them).  Add the garlic, mushrooms, and seitan to the pan and cook about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the seitan begins to brown.  Add the red wine and scrape the bottom of the pan with a spatula to release all those yummy, browned garlic bits.  Turn the heat up to medium-high and let the wine simmer for couple of minutes.

Add the rest of the ingredients, including the broth, bring to a boil, and then reduce the heat to low.  Cover and let simmer for about 20 minutes.  Add more salt & pepper to taste, if needed.

 

I’m actually not going to include the recipe for the brownies because I wasn’t happy with how they turned out.  The recipe was from The Joy of Vegan Baking and they turned out slightly gummy and relatively dense.  I also didn’t think they were sweet enough.  But I wanted to show you the cute mockingjay logo that I made with a stencil and powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

