Rabbit Food -or- Awesome Eats at Organic Harvest, Alabama

My dad likes to joke that vegetarians can’t eat anything except rabbit food.  This is the typical view of the veg diet–that we live on salads and walk around looking pale and sickly from lack of nourishment.  While this couldn’t be farther from the truth, I do enjoy the occasional salad, but I loath boring salads.  Iceberg lettuce is horrible and no one should use it and there are so many dressings that you can make at home that are way more awesome than ranch.  I also like plenty of flavors and textures to my salads (beans, fruit, nuts).  The salad below was pretty awesome, and the colors were so great, I just had to show you.  I love eating pretty food! 

This salad was made by the lovely, sweet ladies at one of my favorite cafes called Organic Harvest, a mostly vegetarian cafe and market in Vestavia, Alabama.

Blueberries, walnuts, black “forbidden” rice, sweet green peas, purple cabbage, spinach, and dried currants, YUM!  I used balsamic vinaigrette, which paired well with the sweet currants and peas.

If you live in the Birmingham area, or are visiting, I highly recommend stopping by Organic Harvest.  They have a juice bar and serve hot sandwiches, creative salads, and soups at lunch.  Their soups are almost always vegan and gluten free and the ALT (avocado lettuce tomato) panini is one of my favorites.  I also recommend “The Arnold” smoothie, which has rice milk, agave nectar, banana, almond butter, and cinnamon.  If you’re lucky enough to stop by on a day when they have their vegan chocolate mousse pie, it would be a sin to not buy a slice!

 

 

Leave a Reply

