Daniel Fast Recipes

I’m on day 4 of my fast and everything is going well.  I’ve been using a lot of my old go-to recipes since a lot of them fall into the fast requirements, but I’ve been making some new stuff from www.ultimatedanielfast.com as well.  Some recipes have turned out well and others not so much.  I’ve had a few people ask me how the recipes are, so I thought I’d share some of my reviews.

I made the homemade tortilla chips and the corn muffins this past weekend (the recipes on each link are about halfway down the page).  I won’t be making either of these again.  I rolled out the “dough” for the tortilla chips as thin as possible, but they turned out so hard that you couldn’t hear someone yelling in your ear while you are chewing them.  I was afraid I was going to crack a tooth!  The corn muffins tasted okay, but they crumbled apart as soon as I tried to remove them from the muffin pan.  I just tossed the crumbles into the soup though, so it worked out in the end.

Last night, I made spaghetti and meatballs and really enjoyed it.  The lentil-spinach meatballs were pretty good (good enough to make again). They do turn out green though, so don’t be turned off by that.  The marinara sauce recipe is so easy and it made enough for 4 servings, plus an additional 24 oz or so that I froze for later.  I roasted a spaghetti squash (1st time ever) and used that for pasta.  It was so cool to scrape all the little strands out with a fork.  It looked just like angel hair pasta!  I was actually excited about eating leftovers for lunch today.

Another recipe I really enjoyed was the nut & fruit “cereal” but I altered the recipe a bit.  I used a small handful each of raw pecans and raw almonds, roughly chopped, and I added a sliced banana, a couple of chopped dates, and some unsweetened coconut flakes.  I poured unsweetened almond milk over it. 

Tonight I’m going to make the oatmeal raisin cookies, so I’ll let you know how they turn out!

**Upate**  The cookies were pretty good!  I added extra applesauce (3/4 cup) and extra date honey (an additional 2 Tablespoons) to make them more sweet.  I actually ended up making a second batch a week later too.  They are definitely not as sweet as ‘regular’ cookies but they hit the spot for my fast, especially with a cold glass of almond milk!

Leave a Reply

