Field Roast Reviews (Celebration Roast & Classic Meatloaf)

Since the holidays are coming up, I decided to do a review of two common Field Roast Grain Meat products that are served at Thanksgiving and Christmas for those of you who haven’t tried them and may be curious. First, you may be wondering what grain meat is. If you’ve heard of seitan, it’s essentially that, with other spices and vegetables added in. Seitan is a faux meat product made from vital wheat gluten, broth, and spices. This makes for a high protein, soy free* replacement for people who don’t eat animals. (*Some store-bought seitan is made with soy sauce to add flavor, so if you are allergic to soy, you can make your own or look for a soy free brand.) I have recently tried two Field Roast products with the coupons they sent me. I tried the Celebration Roast and the Classic Meatloaf. Here are my thoughts:

Celebration Roast


I made this in the toaster oven and baked it according to the instructions. I basted it with vegetable broth every few minutes because it started to look dried out (the instructions recommend basting as well). The roast was stuffed with a mixture of butternut squash, apples, and mushrooms, but I missed the part about the stuffing being “sausage-style.” I did not expect the roast to taste like sausage, but that’s all it really tasted like. If you’re looking to replace the flavor of turkey during the holidays, this doesn’t do it, in my opinion. If I wanted sausage or had expected sausage flavor, it may have been okay, but I was never big on pork when I ate meat anyway. I suppose this would probably be good crumbled up in spaghetti sauce or chopped and put into stuffing (for those who like sausage stuffing), but it just wasn’t my thing, flavor-wise. I thought it had a good texture, however. It sliced well and held together, so it would be good on a sandwich or a biscuit (again, if you like sausage).

Classic Meatloaf


I enjoyed the meatloaf much more than the celebration roast. I spread ketchup on top and baked it in the oven. The texture worked for me, same as the Celebration Roast. The flavor was good (it has carrots, celery, onions, tomato, and garlic in it) and tasted like you would expect meatloaf to taste. This would probably make a great sandwich as well. I served it with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. I would buy this again, but honestly it’s cheaper portion-wise (and more tasty) to make my own lentil loaf!

A con to both products is that they aren’t very good re-heated. I recommend eating them immediately after baking. Once refrigerated and then heated in the microwave, the gluten takes on a rubbery texture that isn’t very pleasant. I’ll post my lentil loaf recipe soon as my partner said she liked it much better than the products above.

You can learn more about the Grain Meat Co and their other products at http://www.fieldroast.com/products.htm.

3 thoughts on “Field Roast Reviews (Celebration Roast & Classic Meatloaf)

  1. I stumbled across your blog bc I just bought a field roast meatloaf for dinner and wanted to look at some reviews for it. I can’t wait to try out some of your recipes! Thanks for sharing all your ideas!

    • Thanks for your comment, Kate. How did you like the field roast? I wrote to their company and asked them for coupons and then sent me 3 $1 off coupons in the mail, so if you like their products, you might want to give that a try! I use their italian sausage fairly often in marinara sauce and for “sausage” and peppers.

      • I’m definitely going to try the coupon thing! I really enjoyed the meat loaf. We had it with baked sweet potatoes and green beans. Last week we tried the celebration roast and I thought it was great too. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

