Top 10 Vegan Snacks (1-5)

I came across this cute comic illustrated by Gemma Correll the other day and had to share it.  It made me think about how boring veg snacks can be if you’re not creative.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love hummus with carrot sticks or a PB&J, but I don’t want it all the time!   I want my 2:00pm treat to be so good I can hear it calling to me from my lunch box, begging me to eat it.  I want to look forward to snack time (yes, adults have snack time too!).  So I’ve compiled my top 10 vegan snacks for those of you who are less creative or just need some good ideas.  These are great for everyone!  Enjoy 🙂

#1 Warm toast with dark chocolate peanut butter (Peanut Butter & Co is my new fav brand) or Jason’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter is amazing!  This is good for breakfast or a late night snack too.  If you want to make it really orgasmic, slather a slice of bread with one of the two spreads mentioned above, top with vegan marshmallows, and put in the toaster oven until the marshmallows are gooey and brown.  OMGYUM!

#2 Chocolate smoothie with 1 1/2 cups almond milk, 2-3 tablespoons cocoa powder (or either of the spreads mentioned above), 1 frozen banana, 3 ice cubes, and a tablespoon or so of agave nectar.  Blend until smooth and enjoy!

#3 Graham crackers “sandwiches” with banana slices and peanut butter

#4 Non-dairy yogurt with homemade granola is great for breakfast or a snack.  Granola is actually pretty addictive by itself.

#5 Nature Valley Oats ‘n Dark Chocolate granola bars (ok they do have honey in them.  I know some vegans care about that and some don’t,  so I’m just telling you ahead of time.  If you don’t count honey, nearly all of their crunchy bar flavors are vegan.)  The Cinnamon, Apple Crisp, Roasted Almond, and Maple Brown Sugar flavors are all vegan to my knowledge.  If you don’t feel like making homemade granola, you can break these bars up into your yogurt as well.

Leave a Reply

