Farmer’s Market Bargains(Day 22/23)

I’m not sure if I mentioned it or not in mythbusters post about the false idea that a vegetarian diet is expensive, but you can really find some great deals at your local farmer’s market.  We went to the season’s opening of our local farmer’s market this past Saturday and had a blast.  There were countless stands up and down the streets selling fresh salad greens, tomatoes, kale, collards, carrots, radishes, broccoli, peaches, watermelon, onions, squash, beans, zucchini, herbs, and flowers.

Currently, when they aren’t on sale, tomatoes on the vine are around $3.60/lb, which  is outrageous.  I got two huge tomatoes for $2 each at the farmer’s market and they probably weigh a total of 2-3 lbs together.  Broccoli is about $2/lb right now and if you can catch it on sale, it’s .99 cents/lb.  I got around 6 lbs of broccoli from a local seller at the farmer’s market for $3.  That’s .50 cents/lb!    My final product purchase was a bag of 4 onions that I paid $2 for.  I would have paid around $4-5 for the same weight at the store.

I also came across a stand called Cheeky Maiden Soap Co, selling homemade, natural, cruelty free bath and body products like lip gloss, deodorant, soap, solid shampoo, sugar scrub, dental soap, and bath bombs.  We got Pity Party deodorant that smells like spearmint and rosemary and a sugar scrub that smells like fresh, summer strawberries.  The deodorant is strong, but has a very pleasant .  The Very Berry sugar scrub smells so good, I actually took a small nibble!  It’s made from organic sugar, sweet almond oil, and strawberry seeds.  There was also a Coffee Vanilla Bean sugar scrub that smelled wonderful as well.  I can’t wait to try more of her products!

While shopping, we discovered a cute little coffee and sandwich shop called The Red Cat Cafe.  They have coffee, fresh fruit smoothies, sandwiches, soups, salads, pastries, and desserts.  All of their lattes have cat breed names, which I thought was adorable.  I had an Abyssinian, which is cinnamon, cloves, and vanilla with espresso and steamed milk (soy, of course)!  The barista made a little fern leaf design in the milk  foam, which was a nice touch.  I also had the veggie panini wrap, which had spinach, artichoke hearts, hummus, banana peppers, tomatoes and feta.   Yes… feta.  I didn’t realize it until I was half-way done with it.  I tried my best, but mistakes happen.  I’m not beating myself up about it.  It was very delicious!

It was a lovely day and I can’t wait to do it again.  I highly recommend that you visit your local farmer’s market and see what sorts of treasures and deals you can get on fresh, local produce.  Now… what to do with all of this broccoli… 🙂

Leave a Reply

