Day 10 -or- Teeccino Rocks My Socks!

So I picked up a copy of Kris Carr’s Crazy Sexy Diet about a month ago and was fascinated by the information on the pH of foods and how they affect our bodies.  For example, did you know that dairy products are acidic and instead of absorbing the calcium from them, our bodies rob our bones for calcium to bring our blood back to its slightly alkaline state.  No wonder people can’t seem to get enough calcium!  We put it in, eat crap, and then our bodies take it away again to balance things out.
 
Wondering what this has to do with Teeccino?  Turns out coffee does the same thing, and I do love my coffee.  It’s not so much the caffeine (because, truly, I’m immune or something) but I love the smell and the flavor and the ritual of it all.  So what’s a girl to do when she wants the flavor and aroma of coffee but wants to be good to her body?  Teeccino!
 
I can’t remember when I first heard about Teeccino, but it’s been at least a year and I’m just now trying it. I ordered a sample in the mail and was intrigued enough to try other flavors.
 
So what exactly is Teeccino?  Well it’s not tea because there are no tea leaves in it.  It’s referred to as “herbal coffee.”  Most blends have 3 main ingredients: chicory, carob, and barley.  Then, depending on what flavor you want, they add other ingredients like dates, nuts, fruits, and spices.  Now, I’m not going to tell you that you could brew a cup of Teeccino for any avid coffee-lover and they’ll like it.  I won’t even tell you that it tastes just like coffee, because it doesn’t.  But it is pretty close and is good enough to be a substitute for me most days. 
 
Teeccino can be used in a French press, a drip coffee maker, or an espresso machine.  They also have “Tee bags” for easy single servings.  You can get light, medium, or dark roasts.  You can drink it black (and it is pitch black, like coffee) or you can add cream, sweetener, frothed milk, etc. as you normally would with coffee.
 
So far, I’ve tried the Hazelnut, Chocolate Mint, and Almond Amaretto.  The Almond Amaretto (medium roast) is probably my favorite to drink in the morning.  The aroma is wonderful.  When I drink drip coffee, I use a ton of creamer and several spoonfuls of sugar, but with Teeccino, I only need a splash of creamer.  The Chocolate Mint is good for an afternoon treat when you’re craving chocolate.  It’s a little like drinking hot chocolate with peppermint oil in it.  The peppermint is distinctive, but not overwhelming.  I would say the “top note” of this flavor is that of a mug of sweet cocoa.  The heart note is like chocolate-peppermint bark, and the base note is the slight bitterness of coffee and dark chocolate.
 
All of the Teeccino flavors are caffeine-free, non-acidic, and contain inulin (a prebiotic).  I encourage you to try it at least once.  You can mix it with your coffee, half and half, in a drip maker to reduce your caffeine intake, if desired. 
 
I don’t plan on giving up coffee completely, but instead of having a cup every morning, now I have one cup a week, so my intake has been drastically reduced thanks to Teeccino!

Leave a Reply

